The following diagram illustrates the administrative and organizational structure of the German national CLARIN research infrastructure project and its relationship with CLARIN ERIC (European Research Infrastructure Consortium) at the European level.

CLARIN-D: Organigram CARIN-D: Organigram


CLARIN-D consists of nine centres. The nine centre leaders and the CLARIN-D steering committee coordinate all inter-centre activities and act as liaison between the centres and CLARIN-ERIC.


Operational and development activities are coordinated by two working groups that separately discuss and resolve issues. Discipline-specific Working Groups (F-AG – Fachspezifische Arbeitsgruppen) discuss issues pertaining to users and to individual academic disciplines before their implementation by the various centres. Technological issues related to infrastructure development are discussed in the Infrastructure Working Groups (I-AG – Infrastruktur-Arbeitsgruppen) and the Development Group (EG – Entwicklergruppe). CLARIN-D centres are involved in both groups. In the I-AGs and EGs, experts from the individual centres are the primary actors, while in the F-AGs they bring in their expertise on the technical framework, as well as maintaining close contact with researchers in the social sciences and humanities disciplines.


The seven Discipline-specific F-AGs bring together disciplines with similar e-Science infrastructure requirements. These working groups are managed by prominent and experienced professionals, in order to ensure acceptance of the committees by their colleagues. For each F-AG, there is a CLARIN-D centre specifically focused on the relevant discipline, which acts as its primary coordinator and an ex-officio member of the F-AG, and forwards requests to the other centres as appropriate. There is also an interdisciplinary oversight committee that consists of the heads of the F-AGs, responsible for assembling the requirements of the various involved disciplines and proposals for interdisciplinary workshops.


A scientific advisory board of international experts advises the steering committee on all on-going work, bringing to CLARIN-D their experience with other international infrastructure projects. Members of the scientific advisory board are:

  • Helen Aristar-Dry (Eastern Michigan University, Linguist List)
  • Christiane Fellbaum (Princeton University)
  • Björn Granström (KTH, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm)
  • Helge Kahler (BMBF, Bonn)
  • Jan-Christoph Meister (University of Hamburg)
  • John Nerbonne (University of Groningen)
  • Achim Streit (KIT, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)


The Europe-wide agenda of CLARIN ERIC is synchronized with the national agendas of ERIC members in the National Coordinators Forum. Erhard Hinrichs has been elected as Chairman of the National Coordinator Forum, thereby becoming a member of the Directorate of CLARIN ERIC. The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) provides government ministerial representation in CLARIN-ERIC, and Helge Kahler of the BMBF has been elected president of CLARIN-ERIC.